

General Meeting

Thursday 21st November 2024

Marriott Royal, Bristol

Chair Ann Carruthers, ADEPT President and Leicestershire County Council

Attendees See page 3

Apologies Katie Stewart (City of London Corporation), Jan Britton (Dorset Council), Mark Kemp

(Special Honorary member), Paul Crick (Thurrock Council)

In attendance Hannah Bartram (Chief Executive Officer), Kylie Russell (Deputy Chief Executive Officer),

David Dale (ADEPT Policy Officer), Helen Leach (Secretariat)

The meeting opened at 17:33.

	Item	Lead
1	Welcome and apologies	Ann Carruthers (AC) ADEPT President
2	Minutes of last Annual General Meeting The minutes of the AGM in May 2024 and the General Meeting in November 2023 were agreed.	AC
3	Financial update for Q1 & 2, 2024/25 The finance update was circulated prior to the meeting. Key points: Local authority membership figure remains static at 97. We also have 6 Combined Authorities, 5 Sub-national Transport Bodies and 20 Corporate Partners. All members were asked to support recruitment. Income remains good with excellent income from conference sponsorship. Launched inaugural Leadership Pathway Programme this year, which will make a small surplus. Commercial partnerships continue to generate income. Expenditure – commission of housing policy paper has added to expenditure. Reserves remain around £300k Current forecast to make a slight deficit but that is not unusual at this stage in the year. Carolyn McKenzie asked if there is a list of non-members. HB confirmed there is a list on the website (also here).	Hannah Bartram (HB) Chief Executive Officer

	Item	Lead
	Paul Bellotti (PB) asked what focus are we putting into capturing combined authorities, with this government's focus on combined and mayoral combined authorities. • We currently have 6 combined authority members. HB is minded to review the CA membership offer depending on what happens with the Devolution White Paper.	
	PB also asked whether we should be concerned about the drop in Corporate Partner numbers. • To date there has been very low turnover in Corporate Partners. In the last 6 months however, four have decided not to renew. There is a waiting list and HB is in discussions with a number of potential new partners. We should be back on track next year.	
	John Lamb commented on Combined Authority focus.	
	Chris Henning commented on the difference between individuals' and organisations' engagement with ADEPT.	
	Angela Jones (AJ) commented that it might be worth reviewing the LEPs and where they have integrated into a LA or remained as separate entities. AJ is supportive of a review of Combined Authority membership.	
	PB asked how we will feed back to membership about how ADEPT will engage with the Combined Authorities. There was a discussion on how different local authorities could connect with their regional/combined authorities and feed back to ADEPT.	
4	Membership fees for 2024/25 The Leadership Team proposed to increase membership fees for the next financial year (2025/26) by 1.7%.	Hannah Bartram
	The increase was agreed.	
5	Any other business Andy Gutherson noted that the 2025 Spring Conference will clash with UKREIIF. This is disappointing (UKREIFF took place the week after the 2024 Spring conference) but hopefully, as the 2025 Spring Conference takes place on the last day of UKREIIF, it won't affect attendance too badly.	
6	 Key ADEPT meetings 2024 22nd May 2025: Spring Conference & AGM One Great George Street, London 22nd May 2025: Annual Awards Dinner One Whitehall Place, London Nov 2024: Autumn Conference, venue tbc 	
7	The meeting closed at 17:48.	

Attendees

Chris Henning (Derbyshire County Council)

Andy Gutherson (Lincolnshire County Council)

Nigel Riglar (South Gloucestershire Council)

Anthony Payne (Torbay Council)

Angela Jones (Westmorland & Furness Council)

Andrew Cook (Suffolk County Council)

Colin Chick (Gloucestershire County Council)

Mark Stevens (London Borough of Haringey)

Carolyn McKenzie (Surrey County Council)

John Lamb (Special Honorary Member)

Sophie Broadfield (Bath & North East Somerset Council)

David Boyer (Warrington Council)

Mark Doran (Hertfordshire County Council)

Paul Bellotti (East Riding of Yorkshire Council)