Show your support for the five immediate priorities for a green recovery

Please show your support for the five immediate priorities for a green recovery.

As the UK develops its plans for recovery from Covid-19, action at the local level will be crucial in delivering healthier communities and a stronger more resilient economy by linking recovery to net-zero emissions and nature restoration. Local authorities must be essential partners in this delivery.

ADEPT is part of a coalition of local government, environmental, and research organisations that has published a blueprint which sets out the national leadership, policies, powers and funding needed to empower local authorities to deliver at scale, working together with communities and businesses. In developing the blueprint we have drawn extensively on the direct experience of many local authorities that have declared a climate emergency and developed local strategies.

The coalition has sent the blueprint to the Government and senior officials, and we are now trying to build even broader support for it in the run up to COP26. We are asking councils, professional bodies, academic institutions and NGOs to support the priorities.

Please show your support for this initiative to secure more powers and resources for councils to take action on climate change and nature restoration, and to build back better from Covid-19. Please click on the link below to show your support the five priority recommendations:

  1. Invest in low-carbon and climate-resilient infrastructure including public transport, renewable energy and electric vehicle charging
  2. Support reskilling, retraining and research to accelerate the move to a net-zero economy
  3. Upgrade our homes to ensure they are fit for the future
  4. Make it easy for people to walk, cycle, and work remotely
  5. Accelerate tree planting, peatland restoration, green spaces and other green infrastructure

Note: This indicates broad support for these priorities as a good basis to negotiate with government, it does not mean that you can support every detailed policy recommendation in the main blueprint report.

By submitting, you are consenting to appear on a published list of signatories.
To find out more about our privacy policy and how we treat your data, please click here.


Namesort descending Position Organisation
Andrew Biltcliffe Regeneration Project Manager Havant Borough Council
Cara Jenkinson Cities Manager Ashden
Chris Silverwood Director of Operational Services Great Yarmouth Borough Council
David Armiger Assistant Chief Executive Bassetlaw District Council
Dimitra Rappou Principal Policy and Project Manager London Environment Directors Network (LEDNet)
Dr Neil Jennings Partnership Development Manager Grantham Institute - Climate Change and the Environment, Imperial College London
Giles Archibald Leader South Lakeland District Council
Ian Fytche Chief Executive North Kesteven District Council
Keith Townsend Corporate Director Environment & Regeneration London Borough of Islington
Kevin Frea Deputy Leader Lancaster City Council
Manuel Abellan Deputy Leader London Borough of Sutton
Mark Atherton Director of Environment Greater Manchester Combined uthority
Mark Cory Leader of Council (Chair of Environmental and Sustainability Panel) Colchester Borough Council
Martin Ferguson Director of Policy & Research Socitm
Matt Davey Director of Highways, Transport and Planning West Sussex County Council
Miriam Turner Interim co-CEO Friends of the Earth
Nigel Riglar President ADEPT
Paula Widdowson Exec member for Environment and Climate Change City of York Council
Professor Martin Siegert Co-Director Grantham Institute - Climate Change and the Environment, Imperial College London
Rosy Moore Executive Councillor for Climate Change, Environment & the City Centre Cambridge City Council
Sarah Warren Cabinet Member - Climate Emergency Bath & North East Somerset Council
Steve Read Director of Environment and Public Protection West Sussex County Council
Sue Prochak Deputy Leader Rother District Council Rother District Council
Susan Halliwell Director Planning & Place Oxfordshire County Council
Tom Ronan Cabinet member for climate change Mendip District Council